• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Should you go ATI or AMD on new HIGH end video card... well it depends...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Trushot

Registered
I posted this as an answer to someone's thread but felt it could help people who are trying to decide between the two cards and come here looking for help...

Disclaimer: I am no expert and the following is only my opinion based on weeks of research ... but I am fairly intelligent and able to research and grasp things in short order and here is what ive found that should be of help in determining which you should get. Hope my weeks of research helps someone make best decision for their rig .. with that disclaimer out of the way ...

This is from Toms Hardware article review yesterday ....

"...As for the Radeon HD 6970, it should be selling for $20 more than a GTX 570. Based on its display outputs alone, that makes AMD’s card worth the Andrew Jackson to me, personally. Otherwise, the two cards trade blows, with the GTX 570 faring better at 1680x1050 as AMD’s Radeon HD 6970 retains more of its performance at 2560x1600...

...Considering 6900s In CrossFire

But wait, there’s more. What about the Radeon HD 6900s in CrossFire? After all, AMD claims to have made some notable improvements to its scaling.

You’re only going to buy two high-end graphics cards if you’re running at the top resolutions with visual details maxed out. That’s where the 2 GB frame buffers featured on both 6900-series cards come in handy. In many cases, two $300 Radeon HD 6950s outperform a pair of $350 GeForce GTX 570s, saving you $100 total for better frame rates. It’s hard to use the word value when you’re talking about $600 worth of graphics cards, but in this ultra-high-end space, two 6950s trump GTX 570s in bang for the buck...."