• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Some questions regarding WC (Beginner)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

yousif666

Registered
Hi

I am new to water cooling stuff and i am planning on building a new pc, my friend has a water cooling and i asked him for advice so he told me that i should get a 120.4 for the GPU and 120.3 or 120.2 for CPU.

and for the case he told me about caselabs, so i was sondering if a regular full tower will be ok with me and i will get alot of space, the space is what i worry about that is why he suggested the caselabs.

and btw i dont want to buy the kits, i want to build it custom so what i am wondering here is that do i really need 2 radiators for my loop?

here are the specs i will be buying for my new PC:

VGA: EVGA GTX 980 (for now i will get 1 only but later i will be doing SLI so total of 2 VGA)
CPU: Intel i7 5930K

I will water cool the VGA and CPU so i was wondering if i need 2 radiators or just 1 120.4 will be enough for gpu+cpu water cooling regarding if its 2 GPUs in SLI or 1 GPU only.

And also he suggested to install 2 pumps because i will be installing 2 radiators.

so what are your suggestions please.

Thanks.

yes, otherwise i wont install water cooling, i faced alot of problems with my old system in overclocking with air cooling and my system is 7 years old so that is why i decided to go with water cooling.

A 120.4 will be fine for a CPU and GPU. The new 980 Series graphics cards are said to run cooler than previous generations, so it might even be good for SLI too. Here is what I would do.
1. Water cool the initial CPU and single GPU with that 120.4
2. Later on if you add another video card, attach it to you existing loop.
3. If you find adding the 2nd GPU makes things to hot for your liking, then you can add another loop then.