• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Stuck while trying to OC a Q6600 on a Gigabyte MB - advice requested.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zithras

Registered
This is my first time trying to do a major overclock, and the Gigabyte BIOS is driving me nuts. First, the basics:

CPU Q6600 G0 SLACR (lapped)
MB: Gigabyte GA-X48-DQ6 (unfortunately, it's so new that its hard to find info on)
cooler: Xigmatek HDT-S1283 (also lapped)
PSU: PC Power and Cooling S75Qb 750W
video: Zotac GeForce 8800GT 512 MB
ram: G.Skill 4 GB (2x2gb) DDR2 1066 (mfr. specified voltage is 2.1, with 5-5-5-15 timings, when the motherboard is set to autodetect timings, it gets 5-7-7-20, right now I have it dialed in to the recommended 5-5-5-15)
fans: 5x Thermaltake A2016 80mm variable case fan

I'd like to overclock the chip to 3.6 GHz (from 2.4) by raising the voltage to about 1.48 and the FSB to 400. When I do this, the computer posts and boots, but as soon as a start a Prime95 stress test, the computer restarts in a couple seconds.

I *think* the problem is in my RAM settings. Apparently the RAM settings on the Gigabyte bios are somehow tied into the FSB settings, but I don't understand how. (i.e. changing my FSB to 400 does strange things to my RAM, such as making it run at 1200 rather than 1066, etc)

My question is this:
What should I set my RAM System Memory Multiplier (SPD) to in the BIOS when I overclock the Q6600 to 3.6 (400 FSB)? What about with the processor at 3.4 (If 3.6 will not work with my components - although I REALLY hope it will)

The SPD menu (used to set RAM frequency) is set as follows (and only contains these choices):
Auto, 2.00A, 2.50A, 3.00A, 4.00A, 2.00D, 2.66D, 2.00B, 2.40B, 3.20B, 2.66C, 3.33C, 4.00C

The explanation for this menu reads as follows:
Auto -> Set memory frequency by DRAM SPD data