• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

System shutdown during very specific event

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Trypt

Hiya! I know this is probably not the forum, but here it is anyway.

System is in the sig. I have no problems at all with games, with temps or performance. Today I started playing Control, in DX12 mode. I made it like 10 mins in, and in a certain place with a big baddie, the computer just shut down, I mean completely powered off, and didn't come back on, had to turn it back on.

I tried again,checked temps (low), checked CPU usage (low), but again, it crashed by just shutting down, instantly, no warning, no game crash, just shut down completely.

So, I noticed that the game comes in both DX11 and DX12 modes and that I was playing the 12 mode, so I tried the other, and of course it's perfect now, been playing for a couple hours (CPU is barely used for the game, GPU is at way lower temp and power consumption than while mining so not that). Also, all voltages from the PSU are normal and it's only used like 50%, so not PSU. I was worried about all that before I figured out the DX12 thing which is what I now think it is since I eliminated everything hardware related and tested the PC with P95, Cinebench, AIDA64.

Just wondering, anything I can do? Maybe re-install DX completely? How do I do that? How about BIOS update, I'm still using the bios that came with the mobo, which was before the release of the actual Ryzen2 cpu.

Last edited: