• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

The all to common SSD question!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Kohta

My brother isn't very tech savvy, and i built most of his rigs. I have a Solid state in a box in my daughters room, along with my 980x parts, which i'm not ready to put together yet (still working on my 1090t overclock) i like to finish one thing before i start another. My brother lives 30 minutes away so i don't go to see him to often, but he did have one question about my part line-up, the SSD, i have no experience with them-yet. But he has 2 rigs he says he wants to "speed up" and i immediatly considerd the SSD. buy speed up, he doesn't mean game load times or Frame rates, spacificlly, he wants it to be 'zippier', like booting into windows-he is the type that shutsdown his PC when he is not using it, so he turns it on/off sveral times a day, and i believe he has it to "sleep/standby" after an hour idle.

His 2 rigs are an Intel Core 2 Duo E8600 with an Ultra DMA-IDE 7200rpm Barracuda 300gb (he wouldn't let it go back in the day!), and an AMD Phenom II X4 955 with a WD Black 640gb SATA I, neither are overclocked. He wants to know if the speed will be worth justifying the cost of a SSD, he doesn't want to put more than about $600 in a couple of SSD's, and he uses about 70GBs of space with everything he currently has installed.

I have opened the option to buy him a couple of Motherboards that support SATA II or SATA III if it was necessary for an upgrade, the AMD board i'm pretty positive is SATA II already, the E8600 rig i can't remember if it even had SATA at all, i'm thinking it did, but this was back in 2008 or near 2009 when i put it together and i used a cheap board, i think it was like $70, since he didn't care for Overclocking, and had a strict budget.