• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Thermal Pads

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

risk_reversal

Registered
I was going to replace the stock thermal pad (if any?) under the Northbridge heatsink on my MB. The one around the core.

I was intending using some high W/MK thermal pads (12) but given that these are fairly expensive (for small amounts) I wanted to get an idea of what thickness I should be going for.

Instinctively, 2 or 3 mm seems correct but I have never done this before and wanted to have your ideas as to what would be the most suitable thickness for this task prior to ordering some.

Many thanks for any info provided.

Cheers

First check what kind of thickness you have under your PCH heatsink. Sometimes 1mm, 1.5mm there's no rule for this. I wouldn't too go berserk for the highest thermal pad. PCH heats but... not like a CPU. Maybe going to 7-8W/mK is fine too and can spare you from dumping a lot of brass there.

Looking to check what thickness I have on my Maximus X too.

Typically its paste...

Though I wouldn't worry about PCH heatsink either...

If it is a pad and you need to know, reach out to your mobo vendor. :)

are thermal pads for computers really effective/ I have a asus that has a heating problem. When i opened it i found the copper sink to be black. so now im very weary of the heat i have some programs to regulate heat but all that does it shut dow the pc when it gets to hot. I think maybe something was damaged however looking at the price of those pads vs installing a new fan for a laptop i would rather give it a go first. I now regularly spray out my cpu with canned air and although it doesn't sound like a chopper taking off anymore it still gets pretty hot to where i can feel it through the keyboard it has stopped shutting itself down now.