• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Transitioning Back To PC Master Race. First build in 10 years, please critique.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

sirRealist

Hello all! I'm a former computer engineer who's flying helicopters now, and I haven't built a PC in about 10 years. I'm still an avid gamer, and I want to transition back to PC Master Race (Stellaris, ah how I love thee). I'm no stranger to CPU/GPU/RAM overclocking and plan on doing so with the new build. I've been doing a lot of reading for the past few weeks and I think I have what I'm looking for. My budget was $1500 for the PC, and to reuse my OS license, mouse, kb and 25" monitor. Then I saw my buddy's Acer predator Z35p, and figured a nice monitor would be a worthwhile investment. I started with a ~$500 budget for a 34-35" monitor and had selected the ViewSonic Elite XG350R-C, but after doing more reading/researching I've decided to up my monitor budget to about $1000 and just get something really great. I've gone a little over budget with this build, but I think all the overages are worth it. For the monitor, I'm thinking of the new LG 34GN850-B, but I had to choose the 34GK950F-B in the list b/c the GN850 isn't listed there yet.

What do you all think? I'm missing a few fans and possible heat sink paste, but I think all the rest is here.

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/PqvV8M

I just saw my signature... wow.

I'm no stranger to CPU/GPU/RAM overclocking and plan on doing so with the new build.

What do you all think? I'm missing a few fans and possible heat sink paste, but I think all the rest is here.

https://pcpartpicker.com/list/PqvV8M

I just saw my signature... wow.

Don't expect much overclocking headroom on the CPU. You will get some but not like the good old days where you could get a 30% performance increase :(