• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Understanding How to Ship/Sell a Case Internationally

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cam_miles2003

Registered
:welcome:

Introduction:

Hi there, this is my first attempt at a guide in helping people understand how to easily ship heavy PC components (like your case) from one international location to another at an affordable price (emphasis on affordable):D.

Purpose:
This is meant to assist people who are either trying to sell their cases or complete setups but can't find enough people in local markets (i.e. within the U.S. or Europe) or for people who live in international locations and can't afford the massive shipping costs of buying cases and heavy components in the U.S. and shipping them to your country and vice versa.

The Problem with Buying Heavy Components

Now I'm not sure how many of you have tried to buy a case from an international vendor but I'm sure at least some of you have seen a case you really wanted to buy from either someone on the forums or from a manufacturer in Europe or the U.S.

The problem that everyone one of you will run into is that while local shipping within the U.S., Europe or within your locality is either quite cheap or free, international shipping is a whole different kind of beast that can increase costs from 3 to 5 times the cost of the product you're trying to ship.

Origin of the Problem
The problem lies in the fact that most forms of international shipping that most of you are used to (i.e. Fedex, UPS, DHL, etc.) have costs related to the distance of the location, the weight of the product, the declared cost and miscellaneous handling charges.

For example, if I were to ship a 50 pound case from Las Vegas to Manila, the total cost via Fedex would be $800 while the cost of the case itself would only be $200.