• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

W/C Noob, first setup questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Black Wyvern

Right, well as much as I'd hate to say it. I'm a noob... When it comes to water cooling.

That much being said though, I am in pursuit of my first WC box, and I just have so many questions still.. I've been plotting things out for the last few weeks, reading guides, comparing stats, reading reviews, but I'm really no closer to anything then when I started.

My setup is going to be as follows:

Antec 1200
- Asus Rampage III Ex-1366
- Intel Core i7 965 [Currently at stock speeds]
- EVGA 470 GTX Hydro FTW
- 6-24GB DDR3
- 2x 500GB WD HD's
- 1kW PSU [Pretty Generic]

I'm currently looking to W/C the CPU, the VCard, the RAM and the HD's, though I am not entirely against cooling the mobo as well given they have a single assembly for it now. Still seems like a sin to take off that sexy sink assembly though..

That comes the loop configuration, with as many parts as I'm going to be cooling, (And hopefully setting up for a later possible OC'ing) would a multi-parallel circuit be better suited, or a single, massive series line?

Forgive me for my lack of poorly drawn examples of loops, but what I was thinking was as such:

Tank -[1/2"]-> Pump -> 3-Way Splitter -[5/8"]-> (Pressure Valves) -> [(Mainboard)+CPU | GCard | RAM+HD] -> (Flow Meters) -> Combiner -[1/2"]-> 2-Way Splitter -[5/8"]-> Radiators -> Combiner -[1\2"]-> Tank

Albeit complex, a friend of mine who works with W/Cing occasionally said properly hooked up, and thoroughly leak-tested, this setup would theoretically be viable. One can't believe everything one hears however.