• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What Do You Think of this Build?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jfrost

Hey all,

I'm going to build my first water-cooled system, and I was hoping you all could give me some advice on the parts I've picked out. I've read guides and tutorials on how to set up a water-cooled PC, but since I've never done it before, I don't know if the parts I picked out will work well together or if any of them are unnecessary, too powerful, or not powerful enough.

Here are the PC components:

Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45T-DS3R, P45
CPUIntel Core 2 Quad 9550, 2.83GHz
RAM OCZ Flex XLC 2x 1GB sticks, DDR3 1600 (PC3-12800)
GPU ASUS EAH4870 Radeon HD 4870, 1GB memory, 256-bit, PCI-E 2.0
PSU OCZ 500 Watt OR OCZ 600 Watt
Case – Something spacious, cuttable, and <= $120 (any recommendations?)

Here are the water cooling components:

Pump Swiftech MCP655, 317gph
Radiator Swiftech MCR320-QP (3x120mm fans), with 2x Swiftech High Flow ¼ BSPP to 1/2inch ID Barbs
Reservoir Swiftech MCRES Hi-Flo (SSF), ½”
Tubing ½” Blue UV Feser One
Coolant Feser One UV Blue F1
CPU WaterblockDanger Den MC-TDX for Intel 775
GPU BlockSwiftech MCW60-4870

I'm going to be overclocking the CPU, GPU, and RAM (for tighter timings). The reason I'm going with water cooling is so that my PC will run quieter and cooler, and because it'd be fun to build and awesome to own.

I'm not sure which PSU to get, since I don't know if my machine will need 500W or 600W - does anyone know? It seems like 600W might be overkill.