• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What is a north bridge, and when, if ever, is liquid cooling it recommended?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

rfkrocktk

I'm kind of new to overclocking and cooling, but I've just built my first rig from scratch and am really impressed with having a liquid-cooled CPU. However, I've noticed that some people water cool their GPUs (makes a lot of sense) and their north bridge. What is a north bridge and why does it generate so much heat that it needs liquid cooling? Most motherboards don't even have fans. When, if ever, should I liquid cool my north bridge?

Northbridge in intel land has been gone (moved to cpu essentially) for two generations now. 99% of people didn't need to atercool it to overclock. Inly with extreme fsb on extreme cooling was that NEEDED.

Your Sandy Bridge 2700k has the north bridge built into the CPU, IMC integrated memory controller.

Like earthdog said, only helpful with really extreme fsb on older generation hardware. On more recent stuff, fsb can't be pumped up hundreds of megahertz like used to be possible.

However, you may still see pwm water cooling. The pwm section on good enthusiast boards usually has some sizable heatsinks that are passively cooled by case fans. These can be water cooled if pwm blocks are made for your motherboard. You are unlikely to get any benefit from this, as heat in this section doesn't typically affect stability of daily overclocks, but I think most people do this because it looks pretty cool.

Don't need to cool the Northbridge anymore.