• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What to do with two identical SSD's ON TOP of a SSD boot drive?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ThoughtCriminal

Hi!

I'm a pro visual effects artist doing processor intensive tasks on my AMD Phenom(tm) II X6 1100T machine.
It's a GA-880GM-UD2H board with 16GB RAM.
My OS boot-drive is a OCZ-VERTEX3 128GB, and my DATA is stored on a GSPEED Q 3GB (Raid 5).

I just got my replacement Corsair NOVA2 60GB SSD's (The old one failed), but thanks to UPS messing up deliveries around my area, I'm being shipped a second one free of charge :p

I'm trying to figure out the best way to use the two NOVA2 60GB SSDs to increase my performance (And hopefully not DEcrease it).

It's worth mentioning that currently my Vertex SSD has less than 10GB of free space available, and I'm forced to use a different hard-drive as my Cache drive for software like After Effects, I'm sure this hurts performances.

I'm wondering if connecting both NOVA 2's on a RAID 0 would make them work faster? Perhaps use them solely for the page file and cache location for my editing software?

Any suggestions would be more than welcome!

I'd use one as a page file/cache/scratch disk and the other as more program space if you need it.

RAID0 increases speeds for sequential (large file) transfers. Doesn't matter to most users, but I think it could help quite a bit with pro media usage.

I think a single SSD will have plenty of STR to be cache/scratch. Putting them in RAID 0 might increase STR, but I doubt it will provide any noticeable benefit over a single SSD. It will increase access times (again, negligible given sub-millisecond SSD access times).