• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

What's the maximum amount of ram possible?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

blazenarrow

Hello there,

So i'm a grad student studying neuroscience and I am currently working on the connectome project. Part of this involves working with electron microscopy files that are about 350 gigs. What I do is navigate through the images and trace neurons, in order to reconstruct them in 3d.

However, in order to do this efficiently requires tons of ram.

Thus, what is the most ram you could possibly put into a system?

What about a windows 7 system?

Linux?

Mac?

From what I understand, the max for Windows 7 was 64 gigs. However now I am finding different things.

Anyway, can you please point me in the right direction. I would like to build a rig that has the max ram possible. What Motherboard is necessary for this?

Thanks for any help you can offer!

Depends on hardeware too. Server boards hold more than a home pc. X99 holds more than z97. I believe you can have 128gb on x99 (16x8), and 32gb on z97 (8x4). Look up the board you have/want and it will tell you its limit... same with OS. I think W7/8 64bit can allocate at least 64gb, I think 128.

I don't do linux or Mac.

With Windows 7 as long as you are running 64-bit Pro, Enterprise, or Ultimate you can use up to 192GB of RAM, not sure why the limit here.

With 64-Bit Linux you will hit the hard limit of your hardware, or your wallet before you hit its limit, 64-bit linux can address up to 2^64 of ram, and I think the most I have seen in even a server is 1TB of ram, and that was a dell R910.