• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

SOLVED Will an Intel 1155 ASUS P8Z77-V LX support 3way Crossfire

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

HalistaX

Hi guys,

I was just wondering, since my rig has the Intel 1155 ASUS P8Z77-V LX motherboard and I've got two GPU's already if I could fit another one in there. I'm no expert at this, If I remember correctly then they are called PCI-E slots, the ones the GPU's have to slide into, right? Well there is one visible just under my bottom card but the space between that one and my PSU is so slim I somehow doubt one can fit in there. It'd at least have no space to breath. I'll try to post some pictures.

The before mentioned GPU's are both R9 290 non-X's, one is Club3D and the other is Gigabyte. The GPU I'm looking to purchase is also Gigabyte, even from the same guy as I bought the other one from.

So, will it blend? The Asus site said It'd fit quad GPU's but honestly, I don't see that happening. Do I need a bigger case? I will also post my specs at the bottom. I have a lingering feeling I will get bottlenecked by my CPU when running games but since I found mining with GPU's, I don't think that'll matter to me as long as I'm getting my hashes. I'm planning on getting a new motherboard, DDR4 RAM and a newer CPU, pref. Skylake later this year, maybe in Mai-August but until then I'm stuck with this one. Would I have to, additionally, have to upgrade my PSU to a 1300w one or something?

- FD Define S ATX Case - Intel Core i5 3570K @ 3.40GHz & FD Kelvin 120mm Liquid Cooling System - 16GB DDR3 - ASUSTeK P8Z77-V LX (LGA1155) - 2x R9 290 Crossfire - 120GB Corsair Force 3 SSD - 500GB Seagate HDD - 2TB Seagate HDD - 3TB Seagate HDD - 1000w BeQuiet PSU

Last edited:
Welcome OCF! :welcome: