• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Win7 & Small SSD

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

leftheaded

Got a 64GB SSD, but now i'm in need of a plan for installing apps/games. Was hoping to get some feedback on this approach. I mostly play games and browse the web on this computer. Next, photo/video editing and lastly office stuff. Thanks in advance!

forgot to mention that i have a MS Technet subscription so i can downloand/install any and all Win7 versions

64GB SSD install:
  • Win7 x64 Ultimate ~ 25GB
  • COD4 (call of duty) ~ 7GB
  • COD MW2 ~ 7GB
  • SWG (star wars galaxies) ~ 7GB
  • BC2 (battlefield) ~ 7GB
  • Firefox < 1GB
  • NOD32 < 1GB

150GB Raptor install:
  • MS Office
  • Acronis (backups)
  • Quicken
  • Adobe Photoshop
  • Adobe Lightroom
  • Sony Vegas Pro
  • Steam
  • iTunes
  • EVGA Precision

:comp:

Last edited:
Not sure what the question really is...

but if you need more space, trim your W7 install down a bit. IIRC, Im under 10GB.

yeah, i'm not sure what my questions are exactly. these small SSDs have me thinking about space like i haven't had to since the 90's lol

guess i'm wondering 2 things:

how big should my win7 install be ? (10GB is my new target.. thanks!)
and does it matter which apps i put on my OS drive vs some other drive? maybe I should install all apps to the raptor and just have the SSD for the OS? those kind of questions

thanks again

Put what you can on it... I would leave about 10GB free so TRIM can do its job (if your drive supports it) effective. Whatever apps/games you want to load the fastest is what I would put on it.

cool. thanks man. :beer:

how should i trim down my win7 install? during installation or can i tweak things after the fact?