• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

wondering if my comp is worthy of the oc

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

netslayer

Registered
ok im pretty new to this so i was looking for your guys advice on whether my comp is worthly of ocing and also any tips on what to improve there are some things i dont know about the obvious reason im here lol here goes my specs at its current setup bios and all.

windows xp pro sp1
amd xp barton 2600+
msik7n2delta mobo
512 mushkin enhanced memory blue line pc 2700
gainward fx 5200 pro 660 vid card golden sample
sb 16pci sound card
80 gb maxtor 7200 hd

its also i factory heatsink so any tips on good ones let me know.

my bios info is here for the memory timings when i reboot it says dual channel ddr 400mhz for some reason and its 333 the dram clock is 200 mhz.
mem timings are 8 3 3 3.0 dont know much about them maybe some help as well. and there is a fsb spread spectrum [0.5%] have no idea what that is and what it should be set at my temps i am getting are cpu 45 c and system 33 c. sorry its kinda garbled and long maybe some tips and help from u guys very much appreciated if u need any other nfo just let me know thanks alot. heres the wcpuid pic.

Attachments

• cpu info.jpg
    cpu info.jpg
    52.1 KB · Views: 271
There are three issues that will affect your ability to O/C this rig:

1. The stock HSF - Get rid of it -- NOW!
2. The MSI 7n2delta has a limit of 1.8V for the CPU core. This can act as a limitation to your O/C, depending on your processor. As you can see on the sig, I've got a fairly decent O/C on mine.
3. Your Barton may be locked. Other wiser heads here might know for certain.

Oh Yeah, and by the way, Welcome to the forums!

this should be in the amd cpu section but whatever