• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Worklog: Help a nub with a semi passive phase change setup!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jctusmc03

First off, I'm a nub to the forums so flame away if you must. Next, prepare yourselves, I'm completely new to phase change setups so you're going to need to break things down for me Barney style.

Due to my Barney status in this I decided I better look for some input and advice from those that have already done this, made mistakes, broken stuff, and figured out better ideas so that hopefully I don't make as many mistakes. I also want you to be honest with me: Tell me if plans are stupid, if I'm dreaming, and if I'm being a nub. I can take it I assure you, I've been on the internet for 10+ years, saving money and doing a better job are more important to me.

My current project is to do a custom mostly passive phase change system that will be able to cool my i7 920 DO that's currently at 3.8 (I'll be upgrading this soon to a 2600k or better) on water and my 7970('s x2 soon) that's using it's stock 3 fans. I want to do this without breaking the bank preferably. I also want it to be as upkeep free as possible, while not taking up tons of space.

Whatever I rig up I want fresh coolant going to each separate piece of hardware individually then back to the cooler so as to keep an even, cold, temperature in all devices and throughout the loop for better component and overclocking performance.

So due to that, I already know whatever I end up doing I'm going to be doing some customization on the actual cooling loop and possibly components to allow fresh coolant to go to three different components at once from the start, then recombining them again and I'm probably going to have to have a beefier radiator and pump due to this so those are planned already.

---