• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Yet another uber-noob seeks bargain basement GFx card for AGP->PCIe switch

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

[EJ]

Registered
Hi all,
I'm a bit of a newbie here so please excuse any howlers, I hope I'm at least in the right section to start with!?!

I'm currently researching an upgrade of Mobo/CPU/Ram/GFx.
I'm trying to keep the cost down, while trying to spend a reasonable amount on the Mobo to keep it stable & allow overclocking of a ~£65 CPU.
The Planned Upgrade is so far:
Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L, ToBeOCed Intel E5200, 2GB Ram (800MHz)
Already got: Seasonic 600W PSU & Antec P180 case, both bought to make it total silent (and futureproofed ready for this upgrade!)
I'll post separately in the relevant forum to check about the above planned bits, altho are there any major problems with GFx card/Mobo compatibility problems I should avoid?

My Old (current) Rig is:
P4 2.66GHz, 512MB Ram, Intel 865PE Mobo, and an
"OwnBrandEvesham" Radeon 9200 256MB [I think it says SE on it, which is probably the bogbasic one]
The Radeon's overclocked to 300/219 with AtiTool when running CS. [Res of the time runs at stock 200/166]

Worst case usage is Counterstrike:Source, which currently runs at ~30fps, somtimes dipping to a jerky 25, with lowish settings, run windowed at 1152x864.
I also use Gimp2 quite a lot, altho I would've thought the speed of that is determined more by CPU & Ram than GFx? Also sometimes video encoding muxing etc but again that's probably more CPU/Ram?

So my aim would be to have CS:S never jerky at 1280x1024. [Doesn't have to be 100% texture quality etc, just middle of the road quality's fine, as long as fps doesn't drop below ~35min]