• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Need help with Caselabs Merlin SM8 design

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ballnuts

Hey guys,

I will be posting my first ever watercooling build here soon. This is actually my first real build, as I've only built one PC in the past (that has held me for over 3 generations of upgrades, and was air cooled). So I'm pretty new at all this. I have done pretty extensive research, and I have somewhat decided on my components and case.

The one thing I can't figure out though, is how I should buy the case. I really like the Merlin SM8 from Caselabs, but it has so many options and things you can do with it, I have no idea where to start.

Any help from the community will be greatly appreciated. I know this case and certain components I have are overkill, but I like the option to add in stuff in the future, so that's why some of the things are the way they are.

I'm not sure whether I should get a pedestal, or the fan filters, etc... for the case. Also if you get the pedestal, it looks you would still have cutouts on the bottom of the case for fans, which really wouldn't be necessary if you had the pedestal I would think. But I'm probably thinking about it all wrong. Here are the parts I have somewhat decided upon.

I will put '*own it' by the stuff I already have

Caselabs Merlin SM8

Intel 3930k

Seasonic X-1250 *own it

Rampage 4 extreme (not crazy about this board, but no better options that i can see, I have trust issues with Asus)

GTX 670 superclocked 4GB X 2 in SLI with backplate

Samsung 30nm 2x4GB X 2 (16GB) Ram. (I am aware the mobo uses quad channel) (I am also considering going 32GB, but maybe later. Even if I don't need it, would it be a bad idea?)

Samsung 830 128GBx2 in Raid0