• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

939 CPUs and best bang to buck

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

LiveSideways

Hey guys, I'm new to ocforums but have been around many others.

I kind of took a one year break away from PCs, and am just now starting to get back into it. My current setup is:

DFI LanParty UT NF3 250gb
Newcastle 3200+ @ 10x250
GSkill 2x1gb DDR500
6600gt
TPII-550 W/ Antec P180

I just bought a DFI NF4 SLI board from a friend and have decided to make the migration to 939/PCI-E. My question is what would you guys recommend for the CPU? Keeping in mind that my current ram only does 273, so if we are talking OC I can't be busting out 300mhz.

I've heard a little about opterons but don't really understand all of the different flavors of the 939.

What would you guys recommend for a new CPU? I'd like to spend around $225-250 but could go up to $300-350 if the bang to buck ratio is that much better.

Please be gentle on the 939 noob :)

That's what I'm hearing....

Won't my ram limit of 273 keep me from l337ness though?

Vengance_01 said:
Divder, but I recomend a 7900GT/X1800XT
Well I'm getting a 6800XT also, and was thinking of just getting another one for SLI.

Think 2x256MB 6800XTs would play fear and ubersoldier on high?

Just change the video card to maybe a 7900GT and you'll be sweet I reckon. No need to change the cpu.

The TPII550 is a bit weak from memory so ...

I don't have a wealth of knowledge or experience with 939's, as I have only messed with them a little, and not touched an Opteron.

I do have 2 939 chips though-

Venice 3200
San Diego 3700

Not sure on just where the price points are, or what you might find second-hand, BUT-

The Venice 3200 (512 cache) is barely faster than my best socket A system.
The San Diego's extra cache makes a very noticeable difference.