• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Daisy-Chaining Fans

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

PerlAddict

Just a quick question:

My setup is going to include an Antec True Control 550, 10 Panaflo L1A's for the case, and 1 Panaflo H1A 92mm for the heatsink (going onto an SP97).

How do you go about hooking up all of these fans to the PSU? Can molex connectors be daisy-chained? I really have no clue when it comes to all this.

Also, since the True Control includes a voltage control panel for a 5.25" slot, could I just use that to control the speed of my fans by raising and lowering the voltage?

Like I said, total noob here about how all the electrical circuitry and wiring hooks up from the mobo, PSU, fans, peripherals, etc ... so any help is appreciate. Zip222 helped me out a whole lot in this thread: http://www.ocforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=282570

And I ended up buying the 10 L1A's. But I'm still just at a bit of a loss as to how I go about hooking them all up (and since the PSU and the fans aren't here yet, I don't really have the option of tinkering and figuring it out, so I'd like to have a slight idea before they arrive).

Thanks!
- Dave

you can hook them like that, I just wouldn't physically hook the fans up to the hard drives' connectors.

I have soldered groups of fans (thier leads) together with one connector, limits the clutter. I believe that the molex connectors are rated for 8 amps, so I wouldn't worry about that.

Also after soldering groups of fans together, you can hook them up to a rheobus (get one with max wattage capacity) so that you can adjust the fans speed/noise.