• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Does Prime 95 really put your processor into load?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tipycol

Well, one day I was running Prime 95 on my PIII, and I forgot to turn it off before I started playing Counter Strike (I play with bots due to my slow internet). Anyway, I put in 15 bots, and I didn't notice any lag at all. I just couldn't believe it once I closed the program and found Prime 95 just torturing along. I don't exactly think CS takes up a lot of processing, but I think I should've experienced at least some lag from this running Prime 95, which is why I wonder if it really fully loads the processor? Or is it that CS is such an old game that it doesn't matter if I run it and Prime 95 at the same time?

Thanks

Tipycol

Yeah, same thing with me. I would load up MOHAA or GTA3 and wouldn't notice any lag. These games put a considerable load on the CPU.

sm0x said:
Yeah, same thing with me. I would load up MOHAA or GTA3 and wouldn't notice any lag. These games put a considerable load on the CPU.

Well at least I'm not the only one :D
Still anyone know if the program really doesn't put things under load? Or does it have that process allocation thing that SETI and F@H have that when something needs to use the CPU, it gives up some of the processor usage to the games?

It is designed to be of the lowest priority, so that if something else with normal priority comes along, it freely gives up CPU time.

i think that when u use CS the priority of prime95 went down. it would take longer to finish one of those test. say one test took 5 secs to perform. if u have cs it would take maybe 10 secs to perofmr???im jsut using this as an example...