• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Finished my Sandy + 6950 Xfire Watercooled build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Codeman05

After building watercooled systems from 2002 through 2009, I took a couple of years off and was pure air cooling only. I began experimenting with the corsair kits, H70 and H100, over the last 6 months and decided (with some inspiration from OCF) that I was finally ready to delve back into custom watercooling.

This is my first attempt in some time, I did things a little different this time.
I didn't use full cover blocks on the GPUs (I swap cards so often, universal was a must), and I went with a fairly unconventional W/C case from what I can tell.

The specs:
Case: Silverstone Raven RV-02
Radiator: Swiftech MCR320-XP 3x120mm Slim Radiator
Pump: Swiftech MCP655-B 12v
Reservoir: Alphacool 1x5.25" Acetal (Black)
CPU Block: EK Supreme HF Universal - Electroless Nickel Plated
GPU Blocks: EK VGA Supreme HF Universal - Electroless Nickel Plated
Tubing: 1/2" ID DD Dreamflex
GPU Heat sinks: Assorted Enzotech copper sinks
Fans: 2x Silverstone 180mm (AP181), 3x 120mm Aerocool Shark (Red)

Computer Specs in Sig

Not the wildest build in the world, but I'm rather pleased with it. It came out looking rather clean and is dead silent, and a sizeable improvement over the H100 I had previously.
I'm currently working on stabilizing my 2500k @ 5GHz, looks like it should be doable and temps are still excellent. My GPUs run colder at load now than they idled under air :D

The RV02 case was interesting to work with. I read a number of negative comments on it regarding W/C, but I love the novelty of the rotated mobo. In the end, it worked out better than I could have hoped. I had to get creative with the drives, but I did still manage to squeeze in a SSD and 4x HDDs.