• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

My first OC

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

broach

I'm relatively new to the whole overclocking process, I've got a pretty nice build that I did while back but never messed around with the settings. I've been having some bios issue with my motherboard but got it worked out so that I could just OC by increasing the multiplier rather than the base speed not sure if makes a huge difference. When I enable the settings to increase the base speed my mobo stops detecting my sata drives.

Well anyways I'm gonna post some results of what I have so far. The temps were while running Wprime, prime 95 gets a touch higher seen the highest core hit 70. I'm not to sure how good or bad this at first I would get crashes but turned the voltage from auto to 1.4v Everything seems to be working now. I just put in the corsair H110. If anyone has any advice or tips they would like to impart I would like to learn more about this whole process. Thanks (edit: it's OC'd to 4.67GHz just incase you missed it in the img)
Current Build
Motherboard: Rampage III Black Edition x58
Processor: i7 990x Corsair H110 Heatsink
Memory: Corsair Vengence 12/24GB 1600freq
Video Card: EVGA GTX 780 SC
Hard Drive:Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, 3TB Seagate HDD 7200
Case: Thermaltake Level 10 GT Snow Edition
Power Supply: Corsair AX1200
Operating System: Windows 8 pro 64bit
p8IVimb.png

mDfQwcH.png

Last edited:
As long as the temps remain under 70 under max load and for a long period of time, I believe you are doing a great overclock. If you switch to 1.4 without testing lower voltages, it wouldn't hurt go for the lowest possible. This means, try 1.35 and test, if it doesn't crash, lower a bit more, if it crashes, start going up slowly. Less volts, less heat, longer proc life.