• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Quick Fan Question. HELP

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

moosedick

I have an enlight 7237 case with a pIII 700 mhz. I have an intake fan and an exhaust fan (one is more powerful than than the other by about 5 cfm). Here is my question: Should I have the more powerful fan taking air in or blowing it out the back?

I'm certainly no expert, but from what some of the cooling gurus have said, sounds as if positive pressure in the case is better than negative.. meaning that you would want more cfm blowing into the case. I don't know if a difference of 5 cfm in either the negative or positive direction will make that much of a difference though... but again I'm no expert. Keep in mind that the psu is exhausting case air too.

you are actually going to have a slight negative pressure if you take into account your PSU fan. There is a debate on what is better, but what is more important is having good airflow and low case temps, how you get those varies. For instance, Hoot with cohesive air cooling only uses one BIG fan and gets great temperatures. How far are the case temps off of ambient? If you are within say 5C then you are doing great.

I modde the front and rear fan oipenings on my 7237 to accomodate 92mm fans, but if you want to use 80s, Go with something like the Sanyo Denki 44cfm blowing in and a Sunon 36cfm blowing out. Furthermore, I tried both ways and here's what worked best for me. If your HSF blows into the HS, bring air in the rear and out the front. If your HSF draws air out of the HS, bring air in the front and out the rear. Please don't parrot the "Oh but heat rises..." phenomenon. That only matters with no forced air circulation.