• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Supermicro PSU alarm problem

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SimplePaladin82

Hi all,

Long time reader, first time poster. I've got a Supermicro system, built around a 7046A-T "barebone" setup. Its based around the X8DAi motherboard, the 743TQ-865B-SQ chasis, and the PWS-865-PQ power supply. I've been using it for about the last 15 months without any major problems. It is primarily used for 3D Rendering and video processing. It has:

2x Xeon X5650 (not OC'd) with the Supermicro Heatsinks/fans included in the barebone system
6x 4GB Kingston 240-Pin DDR3 1333 ECC Registered (KVR1333D3D4R9S/4G)
3x WD SATA HDD (7200 RPM)
ATI FirePro V5800 w/ dual DVI out to 2x Samsung displays
ASUS DVD-RW

The system is also running off of a Cyberpower PP1500SWT2 1000W UPS.

I recently replaced the PSU after I got an alarm and an indicator LED (Power Fail). This is what the SM manual says about this alarm/LED condition:

"Power Fail -
Indicates a power supply fan has failed. The power supply module has a redundant backup fan that will increase its RPM to compensate, but the power module should be replaced as soon as it's convenient."

This happened while I was rendering in a 3D application. The system continues running fine, no apparent cpu slowdown in the taskmanager or stability problems when the alarm is going off. After shutting down and removing/replacing the old PSU with an identical model that I had purchased through Newegg, within an hour or two of resuming my work I'm getting the same alarm.