• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

The absolute BEST CPU cooling is...?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

SpeedDemon

Registered
I've got about $100 at the most to spend on a non-modification type of cooling (I'm not very good with tools) so tell me which kinda of cooling is the best for Socket A (Thunderbird) that I can use to drop temperatures. I'm not too fond of water cooling, so I guess I should ask this...what's the best HSF? Also, is it better to have a super-heat-conductive pad or thermal paste, and which kind for that?

My guess would be the Glaciator and Arctic Silver thermal paste. I could be wrong, but it's been a while since I've looked at air-cooling solutions. If you want to seriously overclock that Tbird, then I suggest you start saving for water cooling because that chip will get HOT!

Just like in real life, anything "on a pad" is hard to live with.
Seriously, never use a pad when you have access to thermal grease.
For a non-modded setup, I think you will have to look far and wide to beat the ThermalRight SK-6 at high wattages.
Good case ventilation is just as important.

Hoot

I just finished testing one of the new Millenium Glaciators. I used it on a Celeron 600 (@ 1008 ) mounted on a slocket. Compared it against an Alpha PEP66T, using a Delta 38cfm 60x60x25mm "hair drier" I posted some test results in my thread "Noisy Delta 38 cure" here in the "Cooling" topic.