• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

To upgrade or not to upgrade, that is the question.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Skwall

Registered
I'm in need of some suggestions by you guys who are much more savvy than I am when it comes to hardware. I'm a network engineer by day but at night I'm a gamer. I mostly play MMO's like GW2/SWTOR/WOW but I also run the Plexapp so that I can keep all of my movies on a storage drive yet access them anywhere, especially my SMART TV.

I've been on the fence about upgrading the mobo because of an issue with my current LGA1366 board not having good SATA3 support. However, if I upgrade the motherboard I feel I should get a newer socket type like LGA1155. If I upgrade the socket type I'll have to get a new CPU and different RAM since my current setup is tipple channel.
I'm stuck trying to decide if I want to upgrade or try to sell my current PC and start over OR just leave it as it is and maybe rework the setup if someone can make a suggestion.

Here's my current build:
Case - HAF 932
CPU - i7-950 3.06GHZ (3.8ghz OC)
CPU Cooler - Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Motherboard - EVGA 131-GT-E767-TR
Memory - 6GB (3x2gb) Patriot Viper II DDR3 1600
GPU - EVGA GTX580 1.5GB
PSU - Corsair TX Series 750w 80+ Bronze Certified
HDD - Corsair Force GT CSSD-F120GBGT 120GB SSD
Additional Storage - WD Black 64MB Cache 250 / WD Green 2TB

When I upgraded the SSD I quickly realized that the 500/500MB drive I purchased would be limited by the SATA3 port that was on the motherboard. I found that the Marvel 9123 SATA3 port that was being used didn't have TRIM support and when I ran benchmarks on the drive I would come up with roughly the same numbers I was getting on the SATA2 ports that are natively on the board. :facepalm: