• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

UT2004 Server Setup HELP

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Adrayic

I have a couple of friends that I play UT2004 regularly with. We usually get together at my house and play via LAN but I was wondering if it were possible for us to play on our own server over the internet? I am a total NOOB when it comes to servers / game servers so bare with me. I've done some preliminary research as to how game servers work and such but I still have a few questions.

Ok, so I know there are two different types of servers -- listening and dedicated. When we play at my house, I host a game with my machine over my network... everything works beautifully and there is virtually no lag. (this is with 4 people playing, including myself).

Is there a way I can broadcast my listening server over the internet so that only my friends can join? If so, how much of a performance hit would I take when compared to running a LAN server? I have a wireless radio internet connection (I live on a farm so our internet options are limited) that is equivalent or slightly better than a cable connection -- at least where bandwidth is concerned. FYI -- the max amount of players I would have on my server is 5 - 6, with the average probably being 4.

I've also looked into running a dedicated server. I have a spare computer that I dont really use much anymore. Its a P4 1.6ghz, 512mb PC2700 memory. Would it be better to run a dedicated server on this machine or a listening server on my machine (3700+ San Diego @ 2750mhz w/ 1gb ram)? Any insight you guys could give me would be very helpful. Tx

-Adryaic

You might want to take a look at this:

http://www.amdzone.com/modules.php?...ns&file=index&req=viewarticle&artid=13&page=1