• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

what are your max3 full load voltages read in windows?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
could you post your bios cpu voltage setting and what it reads in windows when you are at full load and idle? thanks! I'm running a P4 240fsb 1.525 in bios and it is read about 1.45 in speedfan. worried the drop is too big... what are you guys getting? thanks for the help!
 
Last edited:

Zebbo

Mushkin Tech Rep
Joined
Jun 5, 2004
Location
End of the Redline
I see you haven't noticed these IC7-MAX3 voltage things. If you set your vcore from bios to 1.5250, it is at idle ~1.50V and full load ~1.45. And it goes all way to 1.6250 like this. If you set your vcore to 1.6500 from BIOS, it is at idle 1.65V, and at full load 1.6V. Everything from 1.5250 to 1.6250 is lower 0.025 than you set all way up to 1.6250.
 
OP
V

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
i am aware that that setting in the bios is usually the idle reading in windows. however i am set to 1.525 in bios but i get 1.49 at idle. had some bad video display problems today, i guess i will send the board back. hopefully i can send it back even though i had an sp-94 on it. crap.
 
Last edited:

crotale

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
Location
Sweden
Remember: The voltages shown in MBM/SpeedFan/etc. are not accurate.
People report dead-on stable vcore and vdimm voltages when meassured with a multimeter
 
OP
V

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
could someone humor me and give me what load idle voltages they have at

cpu: 1.475
and
cpu: 1.525

with 1.475 i get 1.39 load, 1.42 idle

with 1.525 i get 1.45-1.46 load, 1.49 idle

thank you!

The problem with the weird video may have just been too high an agp voltage. i was really really really frusterated that it happened and i would appreciate if someone could take those voltages for me to see if i can rest at peace.

:attn:
 

Rich_L

Registered
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Veryhumid, I think you asked for some conformation on cotale’s statement about the undervolt myth. This is from a review on the IC7 at Lostcircuits but I’ve seen other reviews on other motherboards that say the same thing.

http://www.lostcircuits.com/motherboard/abit_ic7/5.shtml

Hardware Monitor Voltage Reporting vs. Real Voltages
In the hardware monitor / PC Health Status menu, all voltages show somewhat lower values than set, however, when measured directly at the current source, each voltage was within the second decimal correct as defined in the SoftMenu. That is, a Vre setting of 1.55 shows as 1.50-1.52V in the HW monitor at the voltmeter we had a stable read-out of 1.558V. The same goes with the DDR voltage, a setting of 2.7V shows as 2.65V in the HW Monitor but gave 2.704 - 2.705 on the DIMM slots. In other words, the voltages are exactly where they are supposed to be but there is, once again, a reporting error in HW Monitor.
 
OP
V

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
very very nice article, I will be sure to see if my comp agrees that when bios is set to 1.55, it will read 1.50-1.52. Thanks for digging that up!
 

crotale

Member
Joined
Nov 17, 2002
Location
Sweden
I just hooked up a DMM to my vdimm read out.

Idle:
MBM: Fluctuates between 2.77 and 2.80 vdimm
DMM: Rock stable at 2.84, havent seen and jump to 2.83 or 2.85 in the last 5 minutes.

Load: (dual instances of Prime)
MBM: Fluctuates between 2.77 and 2.80 vdimm
DMM: 2.85 vdimm, bumps instantly 0.01v from load to idle, then rock stable.

I really need a DMM with better resolution.

(Tests done on an IC7-G, vdimm modded, Antec TruePower 430W)
 

Rich_L

Registered
Joined
Jul 5, 2003
Sjaak, if you saying that MBM reads the HW monitor chip correctly and the HW monitor chip is reading the voltages on the mobo wrong then I agree. If you are saying that voltage on the mobo is what MBM says, then I disagree.
 
OP
V

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
Rich_L said:
Sjaak, if you saying that MBM reads the HW monitor chip correctly and the HW monitor chip is reading the voltages on the mobo wrong then I agree. If you are saying that voltage on the mobo is what MBM says, then I disagree.

yeah he is saying that the chip is incorrect. the program doesn't know anything by itself, it just pulls numbers off the winbound chip i believe.

crotale thanks for going to all that trouble! i'm not worried about my vdimm too much, and since you have a modded board that information isn't really useful to me. any chance you can get a vcore reading? I know it is from one of the inductors just above the cpu socket... i saw it somewhere before. i'll go see if i can find the place where the cpu volts can be measured.
 

Sjaak

Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2004
Location
The Netherlands
veryhumid said:
yeah he is saying that the chip is incorrect. the program doesn't know anything by itself, it just pulls numbers off the winbound chip i believe.

exactly. i dont know anything about the chips, mbm just passes it through to us
 

KrisMCool

Member
Joined
Jan 17, 2004
Location
Greensboro, NC
Here is an example of MBM5 readings taken with my Max3 and 3.0C. Results will vary between boards and CPUs, but these readings are close to what others are seeing with similar setups.

BIOS___________Idle___________Load
Auto/1.525_____1.488________1.44-1.456
1.55___________1.504_______1.456-1.472
1.575_______1.536-1.552_____1.488-1.504
1.6_________1.568-1.584______1.52-1.536
1.625________1.6-1.616______1.552-1.568
1.65________1.632-1.648_____1.568-1.584
1.675_______1.664-1.68_______1.6-1.616
1.7_________1.696-1.712_____1.632-1.648
 
OP
V

veryhumid

Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2004
Location
New Hampshire
KrisMCool said:
Here is an example of MBM5 readings taken with my Max3 and 3.0C. Results will vary between boards and CPUs, but these readings are close to what others are seeing with similar setups.

BIOS___________Idle___________Load
Auto/1.525_____1.488________1.44-1.456
1.55___________1.504_______1.456-1.472
1.575_______1.536-1.552_____1.488-1.504
1.6_________1.568-1.584______1.52-1.536
1.625________1.6-1.616______1.552-1.568
1.65________1.632-1.648_____1.568-1.584
1.675_______1.664-1.68_______1.6-1.616
1.7_________1.696-1.712_____1.632-1.648

That is perfect! thank you for that. My voltages yo to 1.575 look similar to that, so i guess my board is okay! I appreciate you find or testing to get that for me. fold on!!!