• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

DDR temps?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

JKeefe

Ok, I just got some new toys to play with, including 1GB of Corsair DDR (TWINX1024-3200c2).

One stick is bad: at DDR400, it gets 100 memtest errors in 4 passes at default voltage and 16 errors in 4 passes at 2.85V. All of these errors are during test 5. At DDR320, it is fine.

The other stick seems fine: at DDR400 it gets no errors in 4 passes at default voltage.

What concerns me, though (besides the bad stick) is the temperature of these modules. They have heatspreaders (the "platinum" version if you're wondering), but they are hot as hell - I can't keep my finger on them for more than a few seconds.

I'm a newb with DDR - are these temps normal? Upping the voltage on the bad stick to 2.85V didn't seem to make things any hotter, but as far as I'm concerned, they're way too hot already. At DDR320, the sticks are still hot, but I can just keep my fingers on them indefinitely.

This is on a P4P800 at stock speeds.

Last edited:
When determining power consumption in a system for power supply sizing, I have used figures ranging from 8W to 15W per 128MB or ram. This would mean that your each memory stick is putting out 32 to 60W of heat. (The 15W figure is old and probably only applies to smaller SDRAM sticks.)

Well numbers of watts are all well and good, but I can't tell how many watts are flowing into my finger - I just know that it hurts.

I just want someone to tell me if their DDR gets really hot or if something's wrong with mine.