• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4 Cooling

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

slvrathlon

Registered
I just upgraded my older machine from a 1.2 AMD to a P4 3.0C.

I am new to the world of Intel and to the world of Intel cooling. I am currently using the stock Fan/Heatsink and the thermal pad.
I am not an overclocker and will not be overclocking.

Is using the factory HS/F and pad suggested? Can you guys/gals suggest some nicer HS/F options and should I even bother with AS3?

Thanks much.

i think that even if you don't overclock you might want to remove the thermal pad and put on some thermal compound.... if you won't overclock you probably don't need a third party heatsink.

Arctic silver is a good idea, but if you already have it mounted with the wax I think its best to leave it.

One more quick question.
Example:
With an AMD chip you apply the grease over the small surface of the chip...

Now with the Intel it has a much larger surface to cover but I did notice that the "Pad" is not covering the whole surface.

If I were to apply some AS to the Intel, would I apply it all over the top surface?
Just seems odd that the pad doesn't cover the whole surface of the Intel CPU.

Thanks.

What is your CPU tempature in your bios? On my stock HS my temps where high just trying to get my HDD,s to load XP Pro.
At that point I decided to get the SP-94 HS from,thermalright.
I still had no intent to OC at that time.I had read that the cooler your components stay the longer they last.Just a few things to ponder, THE FANMAN:cool:

if youve already used the stock HS/F with the pad, thenremoving the pad will be tricky, since the pad will already have melted by then, you can warm it up a bit and then scrape it of with a plastic (non-static) card or something...