• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

High GPU Temps

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

kylehug

Registered
Hello, I'm new to liquid cooling.

I've had the setup (my first liquid cooled) for about 2 months:
CPU: Pentium D 935 (3.2)GHz
MB: Asus P5WD2E-Premium
GPU: Geforce 8800 Ultra
RAM: 2 GB PC6400
PSU: 650W
Case: Koolance PC3-725SL
Cooling Setup: 1/2" Tubing running from Reservoir>CPU>GPU>Pump/Radiator w/ Fluid XP+ Coolant

Nothing is overclocked

Anyway, I've been having problems with Crysis crashing after a few minutes of playing. The point at which it would crash ranged from 5 to 20 minutes or so. I initially tried updating/changing up drivers with the assumption that was the problem, but then I downloaded a temp monitoring tool and played Crysis for about 15 minutes, closed it and checked to see what my temps were. It reported that my CPU was running at 52 deg C at between 75-90% load which isn't bad as far as I know, but the video card was bouncing between 95 deg C and a whopping 105 degrees C !

Obviously this is why it is crashing, and even if it's not, it doesn't matter because these temps can't be normal and I need to figure out how to get more efficient cooling out of my system.

As stated above right now I have the liquid running to my CPU and then the Video Card. My question is, would I see huge difference if I swapped the order so that the liquid hits the Video Card first and then the CPU?

I checked the sticky about high temps but didn't see an answer to my question.

Thanks

That is way too hot for a vid card that is being water cooled assuming those temps are correct.

I would try to re-seat the GPU block, it sounds like it isnt making a good contact.

What block are you using on the ultra?

Do the tubes between the CPU and GPU feel warm?