• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Core i7/4890 watercooling build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

yadge

I am considering trying out watercooling. I haven't really made my decision yet, but I'm pretty sure I'm going to end up doing it. I've done a lot of research and stuff but I'm still a beginner. I just want to see what everyone thinks of my proposed build and if they can give me any tips.

First I guess I should say what I currently have.

Core i7 920(co) oc'd 4Ghz
xfx 4890
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD3R
CORSAIR CMPSU-450VX
CORSAIR XMS3 6GB
Cooler Master Storm Scout
Cooler Master v8 cpu cooler

So I already have the i7 at 4 ghz, and I'm pretty happy with stability and noise level. I'm actually happy overall with noise level in my case. The i7 does run just a little hot, but I don't think it's too bad.

I guess the main reason for doing water cooling is because it's fun and customizing computers is a hobby that I enjoy. I know I probably won't get all my money's worth in terms of performance, but I enjoy doing it and owning it, so that's worth it to me. I don't think my computer will get much quieter than it is and I don't think I'll be able to push the i7 much farther than it is. But it'll be fun doing all of it and having cooler components is always nice. Also I like that I can keep the watercooling as I upgrade and just always be able to have watercooled parts. That adds value to all this.

Ok, so here is all that I've been thinking of so far.

CPU Block: Watercool Heatkiller LT
http://www.jab-tech.com/Watercool-HeatKiller-CPU-LGA1366-Rev.-3.0-LT-pr-4605.html

GPU Block: Swiftech MCW60
http://www.jab-tech.com/Swiftech-MCW60-R-VGA-cooler-Rev-2-pr-4271.html

Radiator/Reservoir: Swiftech MCR 320 QP-Res