• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

a duct without modifying the case... Tell me what you think (I'm a newbie)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Petete

Registered
Hello All,

I'm new to this, and I've just had a (very good?) idea. I would like to know what you think about this (I'm sorry in advance if it's ridiculous or if it doesn't work).

I've been reading that Ducts make a lot improvements in cooling.
Since that means that you have to modify your case (and a lot of work), I've thought about another way to do it. Tell me if you think it can work (and also, where can you find the materials to do it ..:=)
OK...

What about if you put an adaptor to the intake fan (bottom front of the case - cool air) and you connect a flexible tube to it (you have a good presure there because the tube is smaller than the 80 fan) and you place the other end just in front of the heatsink fan? Then you'd have a lot of new fresh air directly over the CPU, and the other fan (outtake) would take all of the heat out of the case.

Another thing (maybe even better), would be to directly put it "over" the heatsink fan (with another adaptor), so in that case it would be 100% fresh air, all the time. Also, (correct me if I'm wrong) I think that in that case, the heatsink fan would carry twice as CFM to the heatsink. So you would have improvement because of the 100% cool air + improvement because of the increased CFM.

I think that the rest of the case doesn't really need to be cooled off, if the primary source of heat (the processor) is cooled this way, and the heat of the heatsink is pulled out by the outake fan.