Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: 6990

  1. #1
    Registered BigBoss's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    37

    6990

    Is it me or does the thought of this card make you drool?

    http://www.techspot.com/news/41295-l...fications.html

  2. #2
    Special Member ★ madhatter256's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    CFL
    Posts
    2,256
    That is going to be a large video card.... probably larger than the current 5970....

    Also.... 384bit memory bus???

  3. #3
    Member RADIO_ACTIVE's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Sacramento, CA
    Posts
    1,764
    Not until it is actually out and tested, then I will have my geekgasm.
    CPU: i7 960 @ 3.8ghz
    MOBO: EVGA x58 SLI
    RAM: gSkill - 6gigs DDR3 1600
    GPU: GALAXY 2x GTX 480 SLI @ 780/1560/2012
    SSD: OCZ Vertex 2 120gig
    PSU: Kingwin 1000w
    CHASIS: Antec 900 two

  4. #4
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,437
    Its just you. Unless I have a 2560x1600 or a multi monitor setup, that card is overkill for me!

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,954
    :drools: over two of those in xfire driving 3x30" monitors with eyefinity
    ---HTPC/GAME---
    Antec Fusion Remote
    Q9650 @ 3.0GHz
    Intel DG33TL
    XFX R9 270x (1050/1490)
    Ceton infiniTV4 tuner
    8GB Crucial DDR2-800
    2x Intel X-25M 80GB RAID-0
    Antec 650w
    2x WD 2TB Green


    BTC: 17jbS7Kq2BMC9VGYa1cDSBoZWarWyovjfv

  6. #6
    Benching Senior on Siesta
    Premium Member #8


    Brolloks's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Land of Long Horns
    Posts
    7,508
    Quote Originally Posted by EarthDog View Post
    Its just you. Unless I have a 2560x1600 or a multi monitor setup, that card is overkill for me!

    Hey, no card is an overkill for a bencher

  7. #7
    Researches Meritless
    LIES for the Front
    Page and Super Mutterator

    Overclockers.com Editor
    First Responders

    EarthDog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Stuck in Maryland...
    Posts
    45,437
    Globals are overrated... haha!

    "We have more information and more ways of accessing it than ever, yet seem increasingly less inclined to do so."- Michael Wilbon

  8. #8
    High Speed Senior deathman20's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Where the Cheese Heads Live
    Posts
    14,981
    Impressive specs, so really can't wait to see what the 6950 and 6970's turn out to be.
    -=The Gamer=-
    MSI Z68A-GD65 (G3) | i5 2500k @ 4.5Ghz | 1.3875V | 28C Idle / 65C Load (LinX)
    8Gig G.Skill Ripjaw PC3-12800 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz w/ 1.5V | TR Ultra eXtreme 120 w/ 2 Fans
    Asus DCUII R9 290 1075/1300 w/ 1.05V GPU | 36C Idle / 75C Load | 128/256GB Crucial M4 SSD's / 512GB Samsung 840 Pro
    BitFenix Shinobi Window Case | SilverStone DA750 | Dell 2405FPW 24" Screen | Oculus Rift DK2 - Incoming
    -=The Server=-
    Synology DS1511+ | Dual Core 1.8Ghz CPU | 30C Idle / 38C Load
    3 Gig PC2-6400 | 4x Samsung F4 2TB Raid5 | 1x Samsung F4 2TB
    Heat

  9. #9
    Senior Moment Senior Member
    dejo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2001
    Location
    Tyler, Texas
    Posts
    2,861
    if the 6970 is only 10% faster than the 5870 and there are 2 cores on the card, I would think that the 590gtx will be every bit as fast. sadly this is all conjecture at this point.

    bottom line is I would love to have either of those dual core cards for benching purposes. they would both bring long wood to the masses, or me at least
    if it screams, crank it. if it cries, kill it

    Asrock z77 ex6
    2600k @4.8ghz
    Samsung 2x4gb rams
    OCZ Vertex4 256gb ssd
    EVGA GTX480
    Sparkle 1250 gold PSU
    Arc Midi case

  10. #10
    Member Burdman27911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Central North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,080
    Quote Originally Posted by dejo View Post
    if the 6970 is only 10% faster than the 5870 and there are 2 cores on the card, I would think that the 590gtx will be every bit as fast. sadly this is all conjecture at this point.

    bottom line is I would love to have either of those dual core cards for benching purposes. they would both bring long wood to the masses, or me at least
    You mean 6990? Or at least were comparing it to the 5970? The 6970 is the single GPU card, while the 6990 will be the new dual GPU card. I would hope that even the 6970 would be 10% faster than 5870, and that this new 6990 would be 10% faster than last year's dual GPU... but we'll see.
    CPU: Intel i7 3770k @4.6GHz
    MOBO: EVGA Z77 FTW
    GPU: Crossfire: AMD HD6970 @1000/1450 + AMD HD6950(unlocked)
    RAM: 2x4GB DDR3-1600
    PSU: Corsair HX850 Gold
    Cooling: (CPU) Watercooled with BIXII, EK Supreme, and D5 Laing

    Ridin' with the King

    HEATWARE

  11. #11
    Member Neural Net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,903
    Quote Originally Posted by Burdman27911 View Post
    You mean 6990? Or at least were comparing it to the 5970? The 6970 is the single GPU card, while the 6990 will be the new dual GPU card. I would hope that even the 6970 would be 10% faster than 5870, and that this new 6990 would be 10% faster than last year's dual GPU... but we'll see.
    There's been no indication that the 6970 will only be 10% faster than the 5870. Pretty much every rumour has put the speed increase at the 30-60% mark.

    Then again they're just rumours, so we could be in for a nasty shock or a pleasant surprise and everything in-between.
    CPU: Core i7 2600k @4.5Ghz 1.26v + Corsair H80
    GPU: 2x Crossfired MSI 6950 2GB @900Mhz/1300mhz
    MOBO: Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3
    RAM: 16GB Kingston C9 1600Mhz
    HD: 2x Corsair Force 3 120GB + 2TB Spinpoint F4
    CASE: Antec P182
    PSU: Antec Truepower 750

    My YouTube channel (GTA4 Machinima): Bobisuruncle54

  12. #12
    Member Burdman27911's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Central North Carolina, USA
    Posts
    1,080
    Quote Originally Posted by Neural Net View Post
    There's been no indication that the 6970 will only be 10% faster than the 5870. Pretty much every rumour has put the speed increase at the 30-60% mark.

    Then again they're just rumours, so we could be in for a nasty shock or a pleasant surprise and everything in-between.
    Oh I agree with you. I was using the 10% from dejo's quote. I was attempting to get the point across that I hope the 10% is the minimum increase for both single GPU->single GPU and for dual->dual and to clarify the new naming convention.
    CPU: Intel i7 3770k @4.6GHz
    MOBO: EVGA Z77 FTW
    GPU: Crossfire: AMD HD6970 @1000/1450 + AMD HD6950(unlocked)
    RAM: 2x4GB DDR3-1600
    PSU: Corsair HX850 Gold
    Cooling: (CPU) Watercooled with BIXII, EK Supreme, and D5 Laing

    Ridin' with the King

    HEATWARE

  13. #13
    Angry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, WV
    Posts
    3,010
    Quote Originally Posted by madhatter256 View Post
    Also.... 384bit memory bus???
    Thats the biggest memory bus ATi had had in a LONG time....if ever...

    Main Rig.....................Game Server............................................ Media Server..............Untangle................Nvidia Shield
    Core i3 2100 ....... ........Phenom II X4 965 w/CM Hyper 612.............Athlon II X4 620....... Athlon X2 2350-BE....... Android 4.4.2
    MSI P67A-GD65 ..............GA-890GPA-UD3H.....................................Biostar A780L3G...........MSI 785GTM-45..........16gb mSDHC
    16gb Partriot S5................G.Skill 2x2gb 1333.....................................4gb DDR3 1333...........4gb OCZ DDR2 1066
    EVGA GTX 670 ....................XFX 8800gt+Asus 8400gs
    60gb OCZ Summit.................4x250gb WD RE Raid0
    ViewSonic VX2453mh-LED

  14. #14
    Member Neural Net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,903
    Quote Originally Posted by Angry View Post
    Thats the biggest memory bus ATi had had in a LONG time....if ever...
    The 2900 XT had a 512bit memory bus.
    CPU: Core i7 2600k @4.5Ghz 1.26v + Corsair H80
    GPU: 2x Crossfired MSI 6950 2GB @900Mhz/1300mhz
    MOBO: Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3
    RAM: 16GB Kingston C9 1600Mhz
    HD: 2x Corsair Force 3 120GB + 2TB Spinpoint F4
    CASE: Antec P182
    PSU: Antec Truepower 750

    My YouTube channel (GTA4 Machinima): Bobisuruncle54

  15. #15
    Angry's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2001
    Location
    Bluefield, WV
    Posts
    3,010
    Quote Originally Posted by Neural Net View Post
    The 2900 XT had a 512bit memory bus.
    Ah ha.. I knew at least one series in the past had a huge bus that bigger...

    Main Rig.....................Game Server............................................ Media Server..............Untangle................Nvidia Shield
    Core i3 2100 ....... ........Phenom II X4 965 w/CM Hyper 612.............Athlon II X4 620....... Athlon X2 2350-BE....... Android 4.4.2
    MSI P67A-GD65 ..............GA-890GPA-UD3H.....................................Biostar A780L3G...........MSI 785GTM-45..........16gb mSDHC
    16gb Partriot S5................G.Skill 2x2gb 1333.....................................4gb DDR3 1333...........4gb OCZ DDR2 1066
    EVGA GTX 670 ....................XFX 8800gt+Asus 8400gs
    60gb OCZ Summit.................4x250gb WD RE Raid0
    ViewSonic VX2453mh-LED

  16. #16
    Member Dan0512's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Switzerland
    Posts
    2,450
    Quote Originally Posted by Angry View Post
    Thats the biggest memory bus ATi had had in a LONG time....if ever...
    Don't know why we're coming up with the 384 bit figure, but I'm pretty sure that the dual GPU solution will sport the same bus as the 6970, namely 256 bit.

    LG
    HP8530W on Arch Linux

    Own a 7900gto? Flash and memory Vmod instructions here
    ADO

  17. #17
    Member Neural Net's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    2,903
    Quote Originally Posted by Dan0512 View Post
    Don't know why we're coming up with the 384 bit figure, but I'm pretty sure that the dual GPU solution will sport the same bus as the 6970, namely 256 bit.

    LG
    Yup, if anything there are pretty fast GDDR5 chips available now (6-7Ghz) that would negate the need for a fatter bus.
    CPU: Core i7 2600k @4.5Ghz 1.26v + Corsair H80
    GPU: 2x Crossfired MSI 6950 2GB @900Mhz/1300mhz
    MOBO: Gigabyte Z68X-UD4-B3
    RAM: 16GB Kingston C9 1600Mhz
    HD: 2x Corsair Force 3 120GB + 2TB Spinpoint F4
    CASE: Antec P182
    PSU: Antec Truepower 750

    My YouTube channel (GTA4 Machinima): Bobisuruncle54

  18. #18
    d20 in a jacket

    ChanceCoats123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    9,462
    Quote Originally Posted by dejo View Post
    if the 6970 is only 10% faster than the 5870 and there are 2 cores on the card, I would think that the 590gtx will be every bit as fast. sadly this is all conjecture at this point.

    bottom line is I would love to have either of those dual core cards for benching purposes. they would both bring long wood to the masses, or me at least
    Where did you hear this? Not a lot in this post is true. Especially not the 6970 being a dual chip card.

    5770 -> 6850 (Single core)
    5830 -> 6870 (Single core)
    5850 -> 6950 (Single core)
    5870 -> 6970 (Single core)
    5970 -> 6990 (Dual core)

    I think you might be a tad confused.
    Ed - "Aight it's pulling down... Thing is really tuned for LN2 though."
    This is the team you are looking for...
    I accept Bitcoins!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •