• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Running 120volts through a pc case???

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Nashiem

Registered
First off I am an electrician so I know what Im doing when it comes to electrical wiring, and electrical theory.

Now that that's out of the way, I just built my first water cooled system, but what would that be without a way to quickly cut power off to the system in case of emergency.

My plan is simple, I want to run 2 14 gauge wires behind the back plate of my case and into the front 5.25" drive bay to where I have a switch I will mount to be used as a quick dis-connect.

Has anyone tried running 120volts through their case, I am not too worried about it, if I cross all data wires at 90 degrease it will cancel out any noise from the 2 wires. And the back plate should protect against any electrical field around the wires from getting to the motherboard or other devices.

Just curious if anyone tried this.

from where are the wires run? i assume from the PSU but how so?

why not just use the PC power switch? if the 4 second delay worries you i think you can tweak that in the bios to shut off instantly.

First off I am an electrician so I know what Im doing when it comes to electrical wiring, and electrical theory.

Now that that's out of the way, I just built my first water cooled system, but what would that be without a way to quickly cut power off to the system in case of emergency.

My plan is simple, I want to run 2 14 gauge wires behind the back plate of my case and into the front 5.25" drive bay to where I have a switch I will mount to be used as a quick dis-connect.