• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Can't overclock i7 4770k

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

tegbird

Hey people, just signed up seeking abit of trouble shooting from a guide I got on this site.

So my setup consists of..
Intel i7 4770k
Asus vi hero
Corsair h80i
Sli gtx 970
Corsair cx750m
Corsair air 540
Teamgroup xteem 16gb 2400 ram (2 sticks)

I'm a bit of a novice overclocker so I started first using the asus overclocking software and tried it at just 4.2ghz but it kept crashing my pc only after a short while which brought me onto the guide from this site. I followed it doing everything completely by the book and even manually it still crashed even at 4.2. I know it's a lottery but mine won't oc even a little bit. What happens is it'll either just restart itself, freeze up or bsod saying something about an unrecoverable error.

Now I will add when I first put my ram in the correct slots (a1,a2) my motherboard gave error saying ram not installed. After fiddling around for a bit changing slots it managed to boot up with ram in slot a1,b1. Ever since that has not been an issue in over 3 months of heavy gaming use. Would this have anything to do with ram? Is it a motherboard issue? Or is my chip just really unlucky?

Sorry forgot to add I'm using windows 8.1

And just remembered another issue, when I load up world of warcraft, on the loading screen when you're logging your character the mouse cursor will lag, and first few seconds your move buttons some won't show the icon but it will appear after a few seconds. Never had that before on other pcs. My wow is on an ssd from Samsung