• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Intake / exhaust rad configuration for my case? Tips for my first loop

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

eliteA92

Hi,

First of all, I am new in the watercooling and modding world. :p

I am modding my case (NOX Coolbay TX) in order to fit a custom water loop. I want to cool an EVGA GTX 780 Classified and an I7-4770k. I want a reasonably silent system under normal use but I also want to have the possibility of overclocking the hell out of these parts.

I have bought EK water blocks for the GPU and CPU (Supremacy EVO). I have 4 radiators (all XSPC): one AX240, one RX240 and two RX120. They are low FPI. My case wouldn't fit any more without a radbox (which I personally don't like). The placement (with some modding) will be the following (complete scheme at the end of the post):

ESQUEMA1.jpg

Due to the space available in my case, the only fans that can have its position changed in relation to the radiator (with some difficulties...) are the one of bottom 120 rad and the two ones of the top 240 rad.

The big question is: which rads should I put as intake and which ones as exhaust?

I have read on the internet that "exhaust is better because you dump the hot air outside the case" but also "intake is better because the rad is cooled by fresh exterior air". This are my thoughts:
1) I need a good air circulation inside the case to keep the RAM, HDDs, SDDs, chipset... cool. I want to overclock.
2) I need an balanced intake/exhaust. If I put all rads as exhausts there will be negative pressure inside the case and a lot of dust. Maybe all rads as intake is possible. The rads take all the spaces for fans.