• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Base Clock and Multiplier fluctuating during gaming

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

o0Spoonman0o

Hello,

I'm pretty new to overclocking, I read various guides and slowly stepped my I5 4690K up to 4.5 GHZ. Processor pulls 1.32v at max load and tested stable in occt for in excess of 4 hours on multiple occasions; Using a CM Hyper evo 212 for cooling the cpu maxes out around mid 70's during OCCT stress tests and sits around mid 60's during gaming.

The system is still stable, not getting any blue screens or anything, but I've noticed during gaming Gigabyte's SIV - Hardware Monitor will show my BCLK and Multiplier varying - pretty wildly. The CPU clock is always somewhere in the 4500 range so if BCLK goes down multiplier is changing to compensate and vice-versa. I've never seen this jump happen in CPU-Z so I'm wondering if the output is erroneous, if this is normal or if I've something to look into.

I've seen the fluctuation a couple times during Heaven benchmarking as well, but it's much easier to reproduce in something like GTA V.

Below is my Bios setup as well as a screen cap of the BCLK/Multiplier varying in HW monitor.

ss4.jpg ss3.jpg ss0.jpg ss1.jpg ss2.jpg

Not sure what you are referring to here as what you describe is not evident to me in the pics you supply.

The stock base clock is 100 mhz. The stock base clock ratio is 1.0x. It is normal to see the base clock fluctuate a little. It will often not be exactly 100 mhz but drop below that to say 99.x or something. The system metronome/oscillator will experience some variance. It's not totally precise. How much fluctuation are you seeing?

This is the one showing an example of the wacky BCLK / multiplier.

Note - ram is completely out of wack as well there. Ram is running @ 1600
ss0.jpg