• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Overclocking my old boy ( Core 2 Quad q9400)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

pavel_kolarov

Registered
So,i recently started upgrading my PC.I replaced everything,except the mb,cpu and ram,which will be replaced soon too.Currently I have Core 2 Quad Q9400 running on Asus p5q-pro with 4x2gb ddr2 a-data 800mhz ram running on dual-channel.i have managed to overclock the cpu up to 3.60ghz (from 2.66).It is definitely showing it's age,but overclocked it is still capable.So i need someone who knows how to clock this quads to help me.I have some basic knowledge,i have overclocked e7600 and q6600,but still i am not sure how to get the maximum out of this cpu until i get a new one,and i don't really understand the voltages :( .My FSB is 450 mhz and my ratio 8,making stable 3.6 ghz with maximum temps 65°(All my fans are on silent mode).I have set the voltage to 1.25 and it is stable (ran prime 95)..i tried to push the CPU up to 3.8ghz,and increasing the voltage,but the system is unstable,crashing and prime 95 crashing on first 5 minutes.So my question is what is the right voltage that i should set , and how much can i overclock this cpu to get the maximum out of it until i get a new i5. :-/

Last edited:
main.png memory.png spd.png
Currently i have 1:1 DRAM : FSB (450mhz). Is my ram that bad,and is that my limiting factor?

What you should notice from that screenshot is your memory is overclocked. This may be you limiting factor. My suggestion is to add a bit of voltage to the ram (.05V) and if that doesn't work, loosen the timings to 6-6-6-XX...

Add8ng Vtt voltage should help as well. Do one thing at a time.