• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Mr. Chambers and FTP's

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Gandalf

***PEOPLE, THIS HAS ABSOLUTELY NOTHING TO DO WITH WAREZ OR ANY OTHER ILLEGAL ACTIVITES, IT IS SIMPLY FOR PEOPLE LIKE Mr. Cambers WHO HAVE BEEN WONDERING ABOUT THIS AND HAVE NOT GOTTEN A STRAIGHT ANSWER***

Hey bud, I have noticed in the past few days that you are interested in running an FTP.

Well, so am I, and I have done it, all in about 30 minutes! :D

I'll try to explain how I did it in simple terms, cause I’m a newb to using an FTP too! :D

Alright, first off, if you don’t have a static IP (one that doesn’t change) then you need to go to no-ip.com and sign up for there program that will automatically update your IP so that it is the same each time. Don't ask me how, cause I'm a newb! :)

Then, once you sig up and login, go to here and add name your FTP site. Mine is called gandalftp.serveftp.com. Simple enough, just choose anything you want. Just put in a name, dont change any of that DNS or IP stuff.

Once that is done, its time to download the client that keeps your IP updated. Get it here and install it. Once it is installed, just open it, and in a few minutes it should pop up with your FTP's name. In my case, it was gandalftp.serveftp.com.

All right, now that your IP is static, you can download the FTP program.

Get the best one out there, Bulletproof FTP Server, its a 30 day trial.