• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

P4PE-L Fasttrak raid controller sx4000 please help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Bald Shadow

Please guys, have patience with me, I am a newbie in the truest form of the word and some of my problems were resolved on this board but yet I have a problem that the technical support guys at Promise can't seem to resolve. I've been on the phone with these guys for three hours and I am back to square one.

I have a P4PE-L mobo and it doesn't seem to like my Promise FastTrak SX4000 Raid controller. When I installed the SX4000 and attached two harddrives to the card (raid 0) the computer will not recognize it. It will scan the IDE drives and give me this message "Warning - fasttrak does not detect proper interrupts, please check your PCI IRQ setups and make sure the PCI slot supports Bus Master operations". I tried locking down the PCI slot in the bios to IRQ number 9 then I tried 10 and 14 with no success. I've even tried changing the card to different PCI slots, no success. When I disconnected the cables from the SX4000 raid controller and connected one harddrive to the motherboard it will read the raid controller card and inform me that there are "No defined disk array"; but it actually sees the card. I can load Windows XP Pro and am able to hit F6 during set up and install the drivers for the card but when I try reconnecting the harddrives to the SX4000 raid controller card I get the same error all over again.

My apologies for being so long winded but as you can see I remain clueless.:mad: :mad: :mad:

That sounds like a motherboard issue more than the RAID card. Can you try the RAID card in another computer, to make sure it works?
I'd check Asus's site, and see if there is a newer BIOS for your board, that might be what it takes to fix the problem.