• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Could this be a disadvantage to lapping

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Dug

I am not an expert in thermaldynamics. Doesn't lapping lower the contact presure between the die and the HS. I know it is a factor in heat transfer.

In thermodynamics there is no contact pressure. You are either in contact or not. When you have two material in contact, you can transfer heat by conduction. If you apply enough force you can squeze a foreign material between two others. SO what you are doing with contact pressure is squezing air or thermal paste of the bond between the die and the heatsink.

Dug (Jul 16, 2001 03:29 p.m.):
I am not an expert in thermaldynamics. Doesn't lapping lower the contact presure between the die and the HS. I know it is a factor in heat transfer.

It depends on your mounting technique. For most HSF yes it would *if* you lap a large amount off. Higher pressure = better contact = better transfer. If your HSF surface is bad it would probably be worth a little pressure loss however

If anyone can lap off more than 1mm, I'd say that's WAAYYY excessive. Anyhow, contact pressure is an important factor in heatsink mounting but nowadays I feel it's a tad too much compared to old pentium HSFs. 12 to 24 pound-force (try holding a 5 to 10kg mass in your hand) says AMD.

lapping can cause a floating effect.

that's what you really want to avoid. if your hs is floating on ASII instead of just filling in the cracks then youve decreased the thermal transfer rate.

i'm not a believer in lapping. only time i would lap is if the hs was dented or bent in such a way that good contact between hs and core was impossible.

i don't believe in polishing, which is what most ppl that lap seem to do. polishing is bad.