• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

XP2400 or XP2600 333FSB

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Ludio

Hi im new to OC forums, after careful study i've decided to go with AMD over Intel. Im upgrading from a Gateway Performance 550MHZ PIII. I have presently a XP2400 AIUGB, I have the chance to get a 2600 333FSB AIUHB for $250 USD. I have never overclocked, built a system at all before. So im going on knowledge gained through reading, I don't have wisdom of past experience working in my favor on this. Will I be able to get the 2400 to clock at 2400GHZ on air? Or will I have a better chance going with the 2600 for a clock speed like that. I know I will probably have to manually unlock the 2400. But, im not to sure on the 2600, since not alot of people speak on that. The components of the system are:
ASUS A7N8X DX
Corsair XMS PC 3200 512MB x2
ASUS V9280s GeForce 4 Ti 4200-8X
WD800JB
Liteon 52x CDR-RW
Liteon 16x DVD
SLK-800 AS3
Vantec Tornado 80mm
Antec 1080AMG 430 True Power w/5 80mm
Windows XP Home

All insite would be helpful.Thx!

The 2600 comes completly unlocked with my asus A7V8X system specs in my signature as far as getting the 2400 on air I wouldnt know........ I just know my buddy with a Volcano Tt cooler has his 2600 running at that speed. Im on water so I dont have to hear the noise hee hee. :D

That is a good 2400+ stepping but that 2600+ is also a good stepping and a good price. Get them both and I will buy the one you don't want. I am in need of a good stepping 2400+ or 2600+.

Your system specs are alot like mine..Id have to say go with the 2600xp the price is awesome you cant get it any lower than that right now..If for nothing else i say 2600 because of the FSB(333mhz)..Both CPU's seem to be good steppings so in the end id say they would both serve you well..