• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Information overload, just have to ask some questions...

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

punosion

Registered
...or fishing for suggestions! ;)

I have been researching hardware for the past two months to build my new PC. It has to be watercooled, as this computer will be a digital audio workstation, and a silent computer is going to be key.

<about two days ago>
I was reading on a few audio production forums that dual processors are very nice to have when working with software, such as Cubase, as many versions of such software are optimized for dual processors. Crap...back to the drawing board, as I now look for dual proc mobo's...
</about two days ago>

I discovered this forum yesterday (been roaming around and reading many of the forums for about two weeks now), and it seems like the MSI K7D Master is the top choice as far as best motherboard. But my burning question now is, will watercoolers be difficult to fit on this motherboard? What other motherboards would everyone recommended for my purposes?

What about the power supply? What should I be looking at as options? Again, my primary concern is quiet and stable operation.

(Gee, this is kinda' split between SMP and watercooling...) Thanks in advance for any helpful words!

Watercoolers will fit fine depending on what you get. Personally, I'd go with something that won't break your bank as the K7D won't overclock enough to have to get really aggressive cooling for it. Nice pump, couple of lower line Swifty blocks and the rest is all you'd really need for it.