• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

temp lcd

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

natgas

I found an old case that hadn't been used in years; it has the old "speed" lcd (?) that used to tell the cpu speed; would it be possible to rig this up and incorporate it into my case to monitor the cpu temp? I'm a complete noob regarding anything electrical so not sure if/how to go about it even if its possible; btw, it is a 3 digit thing!

Its possible. You'll need to determine if it has a serial interface, wire it up to an external serial port, and find a correct software interface to communicate with it.

It'd be possible, albiet a royal pain. Every one of those displays (they're almost always LED arrays, like on alarm clocks) were quite simplistic devices. Generally the display was wired up so that if the turbo signal from the mobo was low, it'd pass electricity into one bank of connectors (which would corrispond to the non-turbo readout on the screen), and in the presence of the turbo signal, switched the current over to another bank of display LEDs.

If you're lucky, just behind the display there'll be a bunch of jumpers that corrispond to the LED units that light up under either condition (I had a kick turning my 486 DX2 66MHz into 99MHz back in the day ;). Making these light up in a series of numbers is possible with thermistor input, but that'd be quite difficult. If each digit is either a 7 or 8 unit LED display, you can use a 7490 and a 7448 IC (the 7490 will take pulses of electricity, count them, and send the data to the 7448, which will convert them to a 0-9 number on the LED display).