• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

how much can i O/C without new cooling units?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

geezus

i've got a duron 700 192mb 133 ram and have been getting pretty excited about being able to overclock to 950 mhz but i dont want to spend any money (read: i dont want to buy cooling unit). Would i only need more cooling if i raised voltage (i've heard people running at 900 mhz without having to raise voltage above 1.5)? I've decided overclocking with a pencil and closing/opening L3, L4 and L6 because my bios lets me do nothing at all (no fsb or voltage calibration and no multiplier settings). My motherboard is useless...
Basically, how much can i O/C without replacing factory cooling units and how can i close/open these copper bridges for no cost and with ordinary tools...

I am new to O/Cing also and I want to impart some of the short experience I have.
You wont get too far without some kind of plan to get rid of the heat you will be generating. Just adjusting the voltage isn't going to do it. From the time I started reading these postings I found myself buying a new HSF which got me a little further down the road. Within 2 weeks I had a water cooling system on the way.
One other thing I can pass on to you is Read, Read, Read everything you can find from as many different sources as possible before you do anything with your CPU. So far I have been very lucky in my journey and have had some good guidance from these guys here in the forum. I hope your experience is as good.