• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

c02, n02

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tyranos

Has anyone tried c02 cooling or nitrous oxide cooling before? It would be interesting to set up a system that uses c02 cartridges that will operate for quite some time, with a buffer system to cool when you need to replace cartridges. Might also find a way for a closed circuit system.

"Operate for quite some time"... well, kinda depends on how a big cartridge you'll fit. A 4 inch(long) cartridge for home soda siphons would be good for maybe 1-2 minutes of cooling.

Many has experimented with dry-ice, frozen co2, with good results, except that it runs out eventually.

You'll need a heck of a compressor to recycle co2 in a closed loop.

Regarding nitreous oxide, I'm no chemical expert, but does NO2 really exist as a stabile chemical?
I know there is N2O which is used as a additive to enhance engine performance(to use a mild expression). I belive that the substance is highly dangerous for home use. One just might break out in uncontrollable laughter when something goes wrong :) or just explode and die. :eek:

There is also liquid nitrogen which is also used by heavily addicted overclockers. Quite expensive in the long run, quite dangerous for the cpu, it might crack the core.

Last edited:
Moved to extreem cooling where it'll be more likely to be seen by everyone who's had experience in this kind of thing.