• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FTP help for a Noob

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dorimon81

Hi all,
I'm a newbie here so bear with me.
I'm interested in setting up an FTP server on one of my rigs. What would I need to do this? I also would like to know if it's possible to have my own web site on the FTP server.

Thanks in advance

Yes, you can have both an FTP and Web server on the same machine, it's kind of confusing at first since both the programs and the machine can be called a server.

What OS do you plan on running on this rig?

If it's Windows based then, I can't help much, others on this forum have experience with that.

If it's Unix based such as Linux, then any major distribution, ie. Mandrake, SuSE, Red Hat, Slackware, etc. will have the programs required to setup and FTP (such as ProFTP) and Web (Apache, is the defacto standard web server) servers. Setting up the FTP and/or Web server is a easy as reading the corresponding documentation.

For a windows-based ftp-server all you need is the server software. There are lost of them. Just google "ftp server" or something like that. Just remebered two of them: Bulletproof Ftp and wsftp. I think there was a free version of wsftp.
(You need a networkcard too)

For FTP remember you will want a good upload speed since thats used for when people are connected and browsing filders/DLing files.

What type of connection will you be hosting on?

I plan on using a DSL connection on a windows XP machine. If I can get the software to work on a 95 machine, I will install it on that machine.

Thanks for the help

i_am_tux said:
BulletProof FTP Server isnt a bad one to use.

I use that one I think. :)